Pork in Wrigley's Products
This is a discussion on Pork in Wrigley's Products within the Islam in General forums, part of the Main Topics category; --- On Thu, 8/28/08, PR@wrigley.com wrote: From: PR@wrigley.com Subject: In Response to your Website Comments - Ref # 000422462A To: ...
- 1st September 2008 #1
- Join Date
- Jan 2007
Pork in Wrigley's Products
--- On Thu, 8/28/08, PR@wrigley.com
Subject: In Response to your Website Comments - Ref # 000422462A
Date: Thursday, August 28, 2008, 3:00 PM
Thank you for contacting us about animal ingredients and our products.
To answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in the
U.S. as of August 27, 2008 are free from ingredients of animal origin, including
egg and dairy products. At present, the only chewing gum exceptions are Extra®
Polar Ice, Orbit Crystal Mint and Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.
Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint contain tiny flavor beads
encased in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. We have
requested the development of a gelatin-free flavor bead that is currently being
worked on by our supplier. Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums use
shellac as a coating agent.
The different varieties of our Altoids mints do contain very small quantities
of gelatin which is derived from pork. Gelatin does not impart any flavor to
Altoids, but it's a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mint. When
we use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing
process. Our staff is continually looking at alternatives to animal gelatin,
but at the moment we've not been able to find a substitute that produces the
same quality you've come to love with Altoids.
Our LifeSaver gummies do contain small quantities of gelatin, which is also
derived from pork. It follows the same drying and purifying process as with the
If your diet does not allow you to consume animal byproducts such as dairy, our
CremeSaver line does contain cream, which is a dairy byproduct. On the same
note, our LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver gummies may produced on the same line
as our CremeSavers, so there is a chance that they may contain trace amounts of
dairy as well. However, we will place a warning on the package if this is the
We hope this information has been helpful. If you have any additional
questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday
through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.
Consumer Affairs Representative
Please do NOT reply to this email. If you would like to respond to this
message, click on the link below.
- 2nd September 2008 #2
Thank you for that.
In the UK all wrigleys except the altoid ones are allowed-they have in gelatine.
Just to make sure, each packet does say suitable for vegetarians.
In the US do they have anything like that on packets?
- 2nd September 2008 #3
- Join Date
- Feb 2008
bareek allah feeik, I didn't know juicy fruit had pork
- 2nd September 2008 #4
Not juicy fruit the chewing gum , they are gums like harder sweets . The majority of those kinds of gums are not halal for muslims , like wine gums.Deeds are your money on the day of judgement , make sure you collect plenty now.
Say (O Muhammad SAW):"I am not a new thing among the Messengers (of Allâh) (i.e. I am not the first Messenger) nor do I know what will be done with me or with you. I only follow that which is revealed to me, and I am but a plain warner." (Al-Ahqaf 46:9)
- By Expergefactionist in forum Living RoomReplies: 16Last Post: 27th April 2009, 04:40 PM
- By AbuUsama in forum Living RoomReplies: 2Last Post: 21st May 2008, 06:21 PM
- By Abu Ishaaq in forum Politics, Jihad and Current AffairsReplies: 11Last Post: 28th April 2008, 07:42 PM
- By AkramUKConv in forum Politics, Jihad and Current AffairsReplies: 2Last Post: 1st August 2007, 11:48 PM
- By abu~Adil as somali in forum Politics, Jihad and Current AffairsReplies: 0Last Post: 15th May 2007, 06:28 PM