Pork in Wrigley's Products

Discussion in 'Islam in General' started by Yousef al Khattab, Sep 1, 2008.

  1. Yousef al Khattab

    Yousef al Khattab <A HREF="showpost.php?p=136821"></A>

    --- On Thu, 8/28/08, PR@wrigley.com <PR@wrigley.com> wrote:

    From: PR@wrigley.com <PR@wrigley.com>
    Subject: In Response to your Website Comments - Ref # 000422462A
    To: @yahoo.com
    Date: Thursday, August 28, 2008, 3:00 PM

    Dear Steven,

    Thank you for contacting us about animal ingredients and our products.

    To answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in the
    U.S. as of August 27, 2008 are free from ingredients of animal origin, including
    egg and dairy products. At present, the only chewing gum exceptions are Extra®
    Polar Ice, Orbit Crystal Mint and Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.

    Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint contain tiny flavor beads
    encased in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. We have
    requested the development of a gelatin-free flavor bead that is currently being
    worked on by our supplier. Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums use
    shellac as a coating agent.

    The different varieties of our Altoids mints do contain very small quantities
    of gelatin which is derived from pork. Gelatin does not impart any flavor to
    Altoids, but it's a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mint. When
    we use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing
    process. Our staff is continually looking at alternatives to animal gelatin,
    but at the moment we've not been able to find a substitute that produces the
    same quality you've come to love with Altoids.

    Our LifeSaver gummies do contain small quantities of gelatin, which is also
    derived from pork. It follows the same drying and purifying process as with the

    If your diet does not allow you to consume animal byproducts such as dairy, our
    CremeSaver line does contain cream, which is a dairy byproduct. On the same
    note, our LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver gummies may produced on the same line
    as our CremeSavers, so there is a chance that they may contain trace amounts of
    dairy as well. However, we will place a warning on the package if this is the

    We hope this information has been helpful. If you have any additional
    questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday
    through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.


    Angela Brooks
    Consumer Affairs Representative

    Please do NOT reply to this email. If you would like to respond to this
    message, click on the link below.

  2. Noorah

    Noorah اللهم ارحم شهداء غزة

    Thank you for that.

    In the UK all wrigleys except the altoid ones are allowed-they have in gelatine.
    Just to make sure, each packet does say suitable for vegetarians.

    In the US do they have anything like that on packets?
  3. Muradka

    Muradka New Member

    bareek allah feeik, I didn't know juicy fruit had pork:mad:
  4. Umm Ahmed

    Umm Ahmed 2C oursels as ithers C us

    Not juicy fruit the chewing gum , they are gums like harder sweets . The majority of those kinds of gums are not halal for muslims , like wine gums.

Share This Page